Why Is Understanding Shopify Important?

THE EVERYTHING CHANGED IN FALL OF 2014

All this ecommerce stuff would be an unrealistic business venture for most Americans if it wasn’t for CEO Jack Ma having a successful IPO of Alibaba.com back on September 19, 2014.

Now it’s January 27, 2017 and I feel like there’s a nano-second timer burning down blocks of time instances. I don’t what really will happen this year but building a source of income that is non-dependent on the local economy seem to be a good backup plan.

WHAT DO YOU DO WITH SHOPIFY

Ok, let’s get started. I added two pretty decent Shopify intro videos below. Try to ignore the hype and the dollar signs. There is up-selling in these videos and are consumer masterpieces in getting to pull the trigger on yourself with respect to responding to their calls of action. Again, listen to the concept being presented and not the marketing you’re being setup for. I remember when I first saw Sarah’s Wholesale Ted videos back in 2013 and thinking “What a scam!” LOL…I guess I wasn’t ready to listen the valuable information

How to Start a Drop Shipping Business with Doug Tetzner formerly Head of Talent Acquisition at Shopify in Toronto, Canada. [subtle up-sell]

How to Start a Business With No Money (Or Little Money) through Drop-shipping with Sarah at Wholesale Ted in New Zealand. [huge up-sell at the end]

Jane Lee reflects on 2016 and shares how much money she made in 2016. [no marketing]

THE JANE LEE SHOPIFY VLOGGING EXPERIMENT

Watch Shopify employee Jane Lee do a real Shopify online startup. I think she started filming in June of 2016.
https://stockroom.shopify.com/blogs/how-to-start-a-business-with-jane/131334915-first-post

“I work at Shopify and I just started a Shopify store selling Shopify things. Sounds pretty crazy, right?!” – Jane Lee

“The truth is, starting a business is tough. I’m learning that the hard way. My store, The Shopify Stockroom, is going to sell gear for entrepreneurs, but getting it off the ground is has not been easy.” – Jane Lee

“To give you a better idea of exactly what I went through, I decided to post every day of my journey on YouTube: from my messiest mistakes to my biggest wins.” – Jane Lee

THE MUCH BIGGER PICTURE OF THE DIGITAL ECONOMY

Brian Wong is a Canadian who entered college at 14 years old. I like Brian’s perception and attitude of the things happening around him. I really don’t know if his views are aligned with my views. I know that whenever he talks about the digital economy I find myself saying, “Dude, I know what you’re talking about, yet no one sees it like that.” Thus, I think a good foundation upon entering the world of entrepreneurship and e-commerce is to understand if this is something you want to learn.

Published on Jul 30, 2013
Brian Wong, in many ways, is like other entrepreneurs: ahead of the curve. Really far ahead. Wong graduated from college at 18, and moved from his hometown of Vancouver to the Bay Area, where he got a job at Digg. At the same time, he was getting his own forward-looking business together. Kiip (pronounced “keep”) builds rewards into mobile apps. Brands like Disney, Amazon, and Pepsi partner with Kiip, so when users complete a puzzle, or a rate a show, they gain access to discounts and other rewards. In an age when everyone’s trying to make money from mobile, Wong shares his story. Plus, what it was like trying to get with college girls as a 14 year-old freshman.

Published on Oct 26, 2016
Author and entrepreneur Brian Wong talks about lessons he’s learned from building his career and a multi-million dollar advertising business. A lesson he’s learned: reinvent or die. Support his opinion on PressReader here: http://www.pressreader.com/opinion/reinvent-or-die?user=BrianWong
A Forbes’ 30 under 30 award recipient, Wong is the co-founder and CEO of Kiip, a category-creating mobile rewards network that is redefining mobile advertising. He’s also author of “The Cheat Code,” a book compiling 71 hacks to get ahead. Watch his interview and learn his tips for success.

Published on Nov 4, 2016
Brian, co-founder and CEO of Kiip (Pronounced KEEP) a mobile rewards network. Brian is to launch his first book, The Cheat Code, in September 2016. The Cheat Code is 71 bite­-sized and virtually effortless shortcuts to get a leg up on the competition, garner attention for creative thinkers and their ideas, and to accelerate success.

THATS ALL FOR NOW

I am a technologist with a strong background in software engineering. I have many interests. My current distractions are 70s-80s-90s music [it's a very eclectic collection], ontology, information architecture, mobile device technology, medical bioinformatics, artificial intelligence, and nanorobotics.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

